Monday, August 03, 2015

On Roleplaying

Just downloaded the 2015-2016 publishing brochure from my favorite RPG ocmpany, Onyx Path Publishing (they've taken over for White Wolf - many of the same staff White Wolf had)/

Things that I am interested in for my 20th anniversary collection are as follows:

Lore of the Clans
Lore of the Clans is a single volume revisiting the history, lore, and nightly practices of all thirteen Clans, told from the perspective of the Kindred themselves. It also contains new combo Disciplines, powers, Merits, Flaws, and other rules specific to each Clan. Coming Soon.

Guide to the Tal’Mahe’Ra
Guide to the Tal’Mahe’Ra offers a fresh take on the dark conspiracy known as the True Black Hand, showing the twisted lives of these strange and nihilistic Kindred. Coming Soon.

Shattered Dreams
In pre-history, the Garou worked alongside other shapeshifters to safeguard Gaia, but the werewolves’ great Rage drove them into a civil war that left the world a much easier target. Later,
colonialism and conquest brought the shapeshifters into conflict once again. This book presents a look at the Wars of Rage, both as the setting of a chronicle and as parts of a great quest against the Wyrm’s forces in the modern nights. Coming Soon.

Changing Ways
The Garou are shapeshifting warriors with physical abilities and instincts that humans can only imagine. This book delves into what it means to be a werewolf, including details on the forms and senses of the Garou, the pack mentality, what it is to grow up among wolves — or werewolves — and the spirit magic that empowers Gaia’s defenders.  Coming Soon.

How Do You Do That?!?
An illustrated game-system overview of common magicks and the rules for running them successfully. Coming Soon.

Gods, Monsters, and  Other Familiar Strangers
Features a selection of characters from various Mage: The Ascension - 20th Anniversary Edition factions and sects designed as a handy resource for both examples of Mage characters and NPCs. Also contains descriptions of familiars, spirits, beasts, powerful demons, totems, godlings, and Bygones. Coming Soon.

Book of Secrets
This illustrated compendium of additional 20th  Anniversary Edition material includes characters, Traits, influence, subsects, mage tricks, and more extended rules and advice. Coming Soon.

Wraith: The Oblivion - 20th Anniversary Edition returns to that darkly compelling world and both compiles and completes the concepts of the previous two editions.

It includes:
• Updated and revised Arcanoi, including those Charon had forbidden.
• Updated setting material on every faction in the Underworld.
• A new look at Stygia and the Guilds.
• Complete rules for playing Spectres and Risen.
• Updated core rules.
• Advanced systems for Harrowing and  Shadowguides.

And more…because everything dead is new again.

Changeling: The Dreaming - 20th Anniversary Edition brings the game back from a long hiatus, and will serve as the perfect anniversary milestone to celebrate two decades of passionate dreams. Players who loved Changeling will finally have a new edition, and newcomers to the World of Darkness will able to dream with us.

•  Thirteen fully playable kiths, including fan favorites from supplements (selkies, piskies, and more!);
•  Updated and revised rules.
•  Rules and history for the Gallain — the Nunnehi, the hsien, and the inanimae.
•  Arts collected from the classic Changeling sourcebooks and revised for the current system.
•  Updated setting for modern dreams.

...and more!


Thoughts so far:

Coming soon is a fucking cop-out!! Grrrrr........

then I continue on to read the rest of the PDF (skipping over the New World of Darkness crap stuff).


Upcoming Releases

The Prince's Judgement - An entry-level, simplified version of Vampire: The Masquerade. This book contains everything players will need for an evening of casual gaming set in a vampiric Prince's Council as they try and determine who is a Sabbat infiltrator and traitor. 80 pages containing the rules and the cards needed for play.

Winter 2015-2016

Digital Web 3.0 - Between the keyboard and hte mind lies the Digital Web, a Net of virtual reality spinning in an endless loop of format and creation. This expanding Realm of living rhought forms what might be the most dangerous frontier in the Ascension War. A new and modern Mage 20th anniversary Edition version of the classic magic infused internet sourcebook.

Spring 2016

W20 Bunyip Tribebook - Designed to match the classic, original Tribebooks, this is the story of the Australian Lost Tribe destroyed by their enemies and abandoned by their fellow Garou.

Summer 2016

Rich Bastard’s Guide to Magick – A Mage 20 th  Anniverary Edition sourcebook that expands
on the mystique of the elite with an exploration of how the REAL movers and shakers operate when you throw magick into their world as well. Mansions, high-ticket toys, expanded Backgrounds for wealthy wizards, Technocrats, and other high-resource types.

Deviant: The ??? – You woke up…different. Someone changed you; on a slab, an operating table,
an altar. By luck or by fate, you escaped. Hunted by the ones who made you, they hold all the cards.
Except one thing, what they don’t know is that a fire burns within you because what they did wasn’t
right. What they don’t know is that YOU’RE hunting THEM. Deviant: The ??? presents a game where the victims of experiments band together to bring down the monolithic organizations that twisted and warped them.


Final Thoughts: I don't know what system Deviant is going to run under, but it could be interested. Reserving judgement.

Where the hell is V20 Ghouls?!?!?!


Post a Comment